What you must know

Dear reader. I am glad to be able to write this article today. It’s about what you need to know about South Sudan as a nation. For sure there are much more to talk about when it comes to the youngest and most beautiful nation in the world.

First, I would like to say I’m proud of being a South Sudanese by birth, even though the world is not yet aware of what South Sudan is. When in Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia or Nigeria, many people still call me a Sudanese, something I have forgotten for over ten years. Despite all these, I am and I will always be a South Sudanese, no matter what.

Second, I would like to surprise you by saying that I have seen something I never seen before in South Sudan. This for sure is the root cause of all problems in South Sudan—ignorance. I made it clear by saying that I am and I will always be a South Sudanese. This means if I insult South Sudan as a nation, I am insulting myself, because this nation is part of me as I am a part of it.

It’s my first time to visit some important offices in this nation, and what I have seen is unbelievable. It seems people are employed not because they know what they are doing, but because they are relatives to the big fish. This is the biggest problem in this youngest nation. People simply don’t know what to do and how they can do it.

Third, our great nation is in trouble. What can we do? Can we say sorry to the North for voting for separation? Our people are running back to Sudan each month. Many are going to Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia, Congo and so on. But, our problem is not just the leadership. What do you think?

To me, the problem is deeper than that. We are not educated, therefore we don’t know what we are doing.

Finally, we must train our people or we forget about a nation called South Sudan on earth. The land is rich in everything, but we must know what to do with those resources or else. I have found out this week that most government offices in Juba are full of people who don’t know what they are supposed to do. Is it because they were educated in Arabic? Then make Arabic a national language, a compulsory language for all!

Thanks for reading.

If you have any opinion, comment or question, please post it below.