South Sudan Views

The dollar is getting higher and higher each day, each week, each month, each year ever since it started to climb the ladder. When you ask the government, the civil servants, the media houses, the traders and the citizens of the nation, none is able to explain why the dollar is getting too expensive.

Smartphones and other important electronic devices are already priced in USA dollars as if this is the national currency of this great nation. Renting a house, either for a business or for your personal office work has no difference. The owners of those business buildings near the roads, mostly foreigners always tell the price in the US dollars. The price for rent is always thousands of US dollars.

There are two views; the individual views as well as the facts. Many people give their own thoughts on why the dollar is getting higher and higher each time. It’s hard to find out what really leads to the economic problems in South Sudan. Others think it’s because of too much tax collections. Some people think the problem is because South Sudan has no export to any nation. Others think the US is making things hard for the people of South Sudan to cause the regime change by the people, just like it happened in Libya.

Others think the problem is caused by lawlessness in the country, where everyone sells his things at his own price, without being questioned. Others think the government of South Sudan is behind all this chaos, to make its own people suffer in order to keep their heads down as they continue to be in power.

All these views are for the individual persons or groups.

  • But what is really the fact behind it all?
  • Why is the dollar getting higher each day?
  • What can be done to improve the economic situation in the country?
  • Who is holding the keys to the economic problem of the nation?

South Sudan is rich in natural resources. The land is fertile, and people can grow all types of crops each year. Trees such as Moringa, Lalop, Tamarind and others can help produce great health products. The water from our rivers can enable us to plant even during the dry seasons.

But the security issue has to be addressed. In my opinion, the people of South Sudan hold the keys to their peace or war.

  • The current leadership may be seen as the problem by many, but is it true?
  • Will things change if we change the leadership?
  • Will we have peace in the country?
  • Are all South Sudanese aware of what the nation is?
  • Do the people of South Sudan know their rights?
  • Is the US behind all this chaos?
  • What can the national government do to stop violence?
  • Will the National Dialogue work as expected?
  • Who needs peace, government or people?
  • How can peace come to the nation?

I buy water every day, in Juba. Things are beyond being expensive. What you used to buy with 1 SSP is now for 10 SSP. In fact, you can’t buy anything for 1 SSP anymore in Juba. The 200 SSP is now equivalent to 20 SSP in value. The only solution to all this chaos is finding out what causes the dollar to rise, and deal with it accordingly.

I need peace as a citizen of this great nation. I have travelled to other countries in Africa, such as Kenya, Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia and Nigeria. But, I never felt at home when in someone else’s country. I love my country. I love my people. I love my land. I’m proud of being a South Sudanese by birth. It’s my pride to be a part of this great nation and people.

I need peace, so that I do what I want to do. I have great plans for the nation. I use technology to earn a living. I would like to train others to help them earn money for themselves and their loved ones. I want to create healthy products from our great herbs. But all these need peace and security. All these things need electricity and other modern tools. I can’t get these resources when the country is at war.

‘What’s your name?’ asked UGX.

‘My name is SSP.’

‘What’s your value against the US dollar?’

‘I can’t tell. It keeps changing each day,’ said SSP.

‘We are all getting over you!’ said KES.

Oh, God bless South Sudan!

The author is an online digital marketer currently living in Juba, South Sudan. He’s the author of 38 books and booklets on different issues, including Digital Marketing, Nationalism, Career Development, Autobiography and Computers. You can read more of his works at www.iribiz.wordpress.com or www.discipleshippres.wordpress.com. You can also reach him through email or phone on his website at www.maluth.tripleclicks.com.