Editing Your Own Work!

How can I edit my book?

Welcome to book editing page. I hope you have finished your manuscript and you want to polish it. Book editing is hard work! It is the most difficult job to do. But does this statement mean you cannot do it? The answer is NO. There are many concepts about book editing. The common concept is that only the professional book editors can edit your book. This is true, but remember, book editing costs money. What if you have no money at the moment, and you want your book to be published now? The only option is that you have to try to edit your book. With today’s technology, you can edit your book as easy as one two three.

Editor's GuideGet The Editor’s Guide for free!

Are you in a hurry? Try some tips that will assist you in your journey. These tips can also be found in my book, The Author’s Experience. They are the ones that work well for me. As an Indie Author, I was in this business for the last three years. I have discovered that, editing your book is indeed difficult. But, You can manage to do it well if you only have to try. I still have some spelling errors in my books, yet, this challenge could not stop me from writing new books anyway. If you can pay someone who will do it better for you, that is the best way to go. But if not, then try some of my tips here.

Book Editing Tips

#1. Separation From Your Book

After writing a book, try to put it aside for some time. A day or two without seeing the book is acceptable. After two days of thinking of different things, you will somehow forget about what you wrote. Then, come back and read the book with the reader’s glasses. Read it as if you are a reader! I mean, don’t read it as the author. This will make you see errors in the book that you have never seen before.

#2. Taking Notes on Errors

When you see errors, take notes on them on a paper. Do not try to fix them right away! This may sound dramatic, but it is real. The common errors I have ever seen are spelling errors. These are also easy to notice. Now, fix the errors based on their type. If you have found spelling errors, fix them at a time throughout the book! Then, come back and fix grammar issues. Your text must flow logically! If not, check and fix the text flow errors at a different time. I mean, fix types of errors on different times. This will help you see more errors when you focus on each type at a time.

#3. Magnify Your Book

You can use the Word Processor’s plus (+) feature to increase the size of your document view. This will not affect your formatting. Here, you may see errors more clearly than not. I also suggest you convert your file to a PDF so that you read it in that format. This will help you see more errors easily.

#4. Use Word Proccessor’s Spellchecker

Microsoft Word comes with a spell checking feature. This tool will help you fix many spelling errors. But, do not rely on the machine! This is true with semicolons and other punctuation marks. If you have no idea of how to use these, please be careful with the spell checker. You know what you want to say more than the software does!

#5. Use Ginger Software

Have you ever heard of Ginger Software? I’m using it all the time. But, as I said above, sometimes it will make mistakes. The software is not a human being! It may be 90% correct, but not really 100%. Use it with care. It may change the whole book to something you never intended to create. Only apply corrections you review. I mean, read what it suggests before you apply changes to your documents. Get it here at http://www.gingersoftware.com

Click here to watch the video

#6. Share Your Work

Some indie authors suggest you share your work with other friends. It all depends on your friends. Many of my friends will only promise to read, but they will not! People are busy nowadays. But, if you have a friend that is willing to help, it is a good idea to let them have a look at your work.

#7. Search The Internet!

Did you know that the net is the best tool ever? These tips you are reading are accessible to you because of the internet. There are any others out there. Read more, but do not agree with everything people say until you try it out! My tips may not work for everyone. You have to make a choice. What works for you may not work for me!

#8. Use PDF Viewer

Convert your book into a Portable Document Format and read it. This can make you see any possible errors you may not be able to see in the Microsoft Office Word view. Give it a try and see how good is this tip. When you read your book in this format, you can then take notes on the errors seen and then correct them using the original file.

Online Resources

Recommended Books

I posted this because I want to delete it from my site! I realized it doesn’t need to be a page on the site.

4 thoughts on “Editing Your Own Work!

  1. naturally like your website but you have to tke a look at thhe spelling on several of your posts.
    Many of them are rife with spellin issues aand I find it
    veey troublesome to inform the truth nevertheless I will
    surely come again again.

    Like

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might
    check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following
    you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

    Like

Comments are closed.